Meet the


The Council is the main deciding body of EWMA. All members of EWMA have the opportunity to candidate for Council at the annual election. 

The EWMA Council is composed of the EWMA Executive Committee (elected from and by the EWMA Council) and council members from across Europe. Council members are elected by the individual members of EWMA or by the Cooperating Organisations Board members. The EWMA Council also includes a member elected by our international partners, Wounds Australia and AAWC, US.

Want to join the EWMA Council? Read about the procedures for council election here.



Kirsi Isoherranen

President, Skin and Allergy Hospital HUS Helsinki, Would Healing Centre, Editor-in-Chief JWM

Location: Finland

Sebastian Probst

Immediate Past President, School of Health Sciences, HES-SO University of Applied Sciences and Arts Western Switzerland; Medical Faculty, University of Geneva

Location: Switzerland

Dimitri Beeckman

President Elect & Honorary Treasurer, Skin Integrity and Clinical Nursing, Ghent University

Location: Belgium

Andrea Pokorná

Scientific Recorder, Department of Nursing, Masaryk University

Location: Czech Republic

Elena Conde Montero

Honorary Secretary, Hospital Universitario Infanta Leonor Madrid

Location: Spain



Franco Bassetto

Clinic of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, Hospital-University of Padova

Location: Italy

Valentina Dini

University of Pisa-Dermatology Unit, Department of Clinical and Experimental Medicine

Location: Italy

Viviana Gonçalves

Specialist Nurse Practitioner in management of complex wound care, Centro Hospitalar e Universitário de São João

Location: Portugal

Samantha Holloway

Nurse, Cheltenham General Hospital. Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (SFHEA) Cardiff University

Location: United Kingdom

New EWMA Council Member, Alison Hopkins

Alison Hopkins

Chief Executive Accelerate Health CIC

Location: United Kingdom

Ana Lamza

Vascular Surgeon, Clinical hospital “Sv. Duh”, Zagreb

Location: Croatia

José Luis Lázaro Martínez

Diabetic Foot Unit, University Podiatry Clinic College of Medicine Complutense University of Madrid

Location: Spain

Battistino Paggi

Freelance RN, Consultant in Education and Research

Location: Italy

David Pérez Barreno

Advanced Practice Nurse in chronic, complex wound care | President of the Spanish Vascular Nursing and Wound Association (AEEVH)

Location: Spain

Paulo Ramos

Northern Regional Health Administration – ARS Norte, Vila do Conde

Location: Portugal

Tânia Alexandra Duarte dos Santos

Specialised Nurse in Diabetes and Wound Care, Personalised Healthcare Unit (UCSP) Albufeira

Location: Portugal

Corinne Scicluna

Nursing Department, University of Malta, MASC

Location: Malta

Ewa Stürmer

Department of Vascular Medicine, University Heart Center, Division of Translational Research, University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE)

Location: Germany

Joan Enric Torra-Bou

Nurse, PhD at University of Alicante. Founder & CEO of Sapiens FHWC

Location: Spain

Evelien Touriany

Nurse, Wound Management Coordinator, Queen Astrid Military Hospital, Brussels – Vice-President, (CNC) vzw Wound Management Association, Belgium

Location: Belgium

Hakan Uncu New EWMA Council Member

Hakan Uncu

Professor of General and Vascular Surgery, Faculty of Medicine, Ankara University. Director of Wound Care Unit of Ankara University Hospital. President of Wound Management Association of Turkey (WMAT)

Location: Turkey

Hubert Vuagnat

Centre for Wounds and Woundhealing | Head of the University Hospitals of Geneva Interdisciplinary Wound Care Team

Location: Switzerland

Barbara M. Bates-Jensen

UCLA School of Nursing & David Geffen School of Medicine Division of Geriatrics

Location: USA (Representative and President of Association for the Advancement of Wound care)

Hayley Ryan

Director of WoundRescue Pty Ltd, Australia & New Zealand | Adjunct Lecturer University of Technology Sydney

Location: Australia (Representative and President of Wounds Australia)

Skip to content