Diabetic Foot Committee

The Diabetic Foot Ulcer Committee is a new EWMA Committee which was established in 2023. 


  • Support the implementation of the IWGDF Guideline across Europe 
  • Define the gaps between recommendations and clinical practice in selected regions across Europe 
  • Initiate and support projects aiming to reduce these gaps
  • Support improved prevention of wounds across sectors
  • Support rehabilitation after amputation
  • Maintain and renew a strong network of DFU specialists (To ensure pan-European collaboration, e.g., in research activities and data collection
  • Support education in DFU management

The primary aim of the committee will be to support the implementation of the IWGDF diabetic foot ucler guidelines across Europe and to support increased research in the prevalence and management of the diabetic foot. One of the implementation strategies that will be used to support guideline implementation across Europe is the Diabetic Foot Valley concept. You can find a short case description of the concept here

The committee is chaired by Prof José Luis Lázaro Martínez, Spain, who will be responsible for the development of the committee and the activities taken on by this group.  

Members of the EWMA Diabetic Foot Committee: 

José Luis Lázaro Martinez (Chair), Spain 
Ana Lamza, Croatia
Vladimira Fejfarová , Czech Republic
Klaus Kirketerp-Møller, Denmark
Katariina Noronen, Finland
Carolyn Macintosh , Ireland
Chiara Goretti, Italy
Marco Meloni, Italy
Alberto Piaggesi, Italy
Natália Santos, Portugal 
José Ramón March, Spain 
Jan Apelqvist , Sweden
Magdalena Annersten Gershater, Sweden
Cecilia Morgantini, Sweden
Maria Iakova, Switzerland
Prash Vas , United Kingdom
Paul Chadwick , United Kingdom